The Bokashi Project: Part 2

It’s been a couple of weeks now, just enough time for my first bokashi bucket to mature, and since the sun is shining today (a rare occurrence this summer), I thought I should make the most of it and try the next stage of my project.

As you know I’ve snubbed the fancy commercial kits in favour of Jenny’s Swedish bucket: one nondescript bucket, no holes, with a lid. I feared I’d have a bucket of slime to dispose of – it’s been sitting in the kitchen for weeks, so I went outside and gingerly opened the lid, and…

It worked!  No bad smell!  The scraps were “pickled” with a little of the good mould (the white, fluffy kind), and just a vague tang.

My next task was to bury it.  There’s a tiny plot of garden by my back stairs which is technically common area, but I’ve claimed this neglected spot as my kitchen garden.  Growing basil is one thing, and digging big holes in the garden is another, but all I needed was a trench about 1m long, 0.5m wide, and about 20cm deep to bury 10 litres of bokashi.  Now I wait another two weeks for it to break down, ready for use.

2 thoughts on “The Bokashi Project: Part 2

  1. That’s great Elizabeth. Congrats on the first successful bucket. I can’t wait for mine to be ready to use.

    Reluctantretiree says about winter, I’ve got a full bucket that I can’t re-use until I bury the contents in garden or compost pile (or introduce to the wormfarm). I went away with a few families on the weekend and tried Jenny’s bag in the bucket idea. Collected 2 solid buckets and all the paper plates, serviettes and bread went in to sop up the liquid that will build up in the bag method. Those buckets are clean and ready to reuse. I just took the bag out, tied a knot and threw them in an old garbage bin to do their ferment (I double-bagged them just in case of holes and so I don’t have to worry about being too gentle – a big bag would do instead of a bin and could help with ensuring air is excluded). I haven’t got to the end with these so can’t say for sure, but sounds sensible and Jenny and friends have trialled recently.

    I have had to use biodegradable bags as I have had trouble sourcing the thick compostable bags Jenny uses, but I’m working on that problem. Most compostable bags I’ve found are way too flimsy to guarantee air would be excluded and some are actually ‘breathable’ which is far from what we are looking for. If I can find the right ones, I will be able to bury the whole bag without ever having experienced anything yikky…but I’m sure I can manage to split open a biodegradable bag or empty a normal plastic bag when using. I’ve done a lot worse. I’m already achieving my goals, everything after that is a bonus (for me, the garden or the planet).

    All the best and thanks for sharing your experiences.
    Kerri

Leave a Reply

