The Bokashi Project: Part 3

I’ve been waiting for a sunny day to take some pictures in the garden but the forecast suggests I could be waiting a while, so I nipped outside this afternoon before the light faded (it’s now pouring as I write this).

With a quick turn of the trowel, it was easy to see my first bokashi batch had gone to plan: three week’s worth of kitchen scraps had all but disappeared, with just an odd teabag or so remaining.  I was expecting that black, crumbly soil you get from composting, but I’ve realised the dirt in my garden is quite poor and it’s going to take a few bokashi buckets to revive it, for which there’s no short supply, because I dug in my second bucket today too.

Overall I think bokashi is a fairly no-fuss way to manage kitchen waste as a unit-dweller, provided you have somewhere to empty your bucket.  I like that we can tip the scraps into a big bucket in the kitchen, rather than go outside each time, and there’s no mouldy scraps bin deal with.  It also breaks down faster than regular composting so you can use it sooner.

I thoroughly recommend this DIY method – if you can thrift some suitable buckets, you’ll only need to buy the bran, so it’s really inexpensive.  And if you’ve got friends that do bokashi, you can buy in bulk and it’s even cheaper.

As with any gardening, a little experimentation is needed.  Initially I was wondering how many buckets I’d need, but for our little household of two I think two buckets will suffice, filling one while the other matures.  I’ve also trialled two bucket styles. The nappy bucket I found on Freecycle works really well because the lid fits tightly but is easy to take off, and it’s a good size, about 15 litres.  The other one, as I’ve previously mentioned, needs some muscle to open and close, but they both do the job needed.

I also discovered one morning that a bandicoot had been digging where the bokashi was buried.  It was just the once so I’m not too concerned, but you may need to dig deep if you have larger wildlife in your neighbourhood.

Another great thing is that there’s nothing soggy in the regular bin, so no need for plastic bin liners – and now there’s hardly anything to throw out anyway.

2 thoughts on “The Bokashi Project: Part 3

  1. Thanks for the updates Elizabeth. I’m glad your first Bokashi bucket has turned out well.

    You might remember that I am doing Bag Bokashi and took it on holidays before my first ‘shop bought’ bucket was even full, so I have an old garbage bin full of bags fermenting. My first bucket has been down long enough for me to bury, but we just built a wicking garden and we are accumulating Bokashi so we can use it when we fill it. It is quite an adventure building a no-bend, no-dig and nearly no-water garden. We’ll be pleased to see how it turns out.

    I’m living vicariously through you to see that magic transformation to soil. Thanks for the pics. If you only have a small area and you keep adding Bokashi, you will have a flourishing oasis in no time.

    We have used one bag, but that was dog and bird droppings so went into a disposal tower we built instead of getting buried, so we don’t get to see the final result.

    I still can’t believe how far we’ve come in only a few short weeks.
    I’ve just ordered Bokashi spray and EM-1. I think the spray will be easier to use for me, but I still think the bran covers over the scraps and sort of has a psychological effect when you don’t see them as they sit in the bucket in the kitchen. I’ll let you know.

    Take care and enjoy every minute,
    Kerri

Leave a Reply

